Fixed income solutions

Fidelity International (Fidelity) has established an outstanding reputation in the management of fixed income portfolios since 1990. Our impressive performance is the result of a well-defined investment philosophy, a commitment to research and an established portfolio management process.

It is the combination of these strengths that differentiates Fidelity from our competitors in fixed income portfolio management. It allows us to consistently meet our clients' needs, delivering attractive risk-adjusted returns irrespective of the market environment.

We believe that Fidelity, more than any other company, has a single-minded determination to deliver the best for our clients. The strength of our resources - throughout the business - ensures we can achieve this goal.

A team culture dedicated to performance

Our approach combines the specialist expertise of portfolio managers, credit and quantitative analysts, and traders. We have teams of specialist fixed income analysts in London, Hong Kong, India and Tokyo and can also draw on the work carried out by Fidelity Management and Research (FMR), in Boston. As a result, we are able to leverage the findings of over 200 fixed income specialists* and with this team - one of the largest networks of its kind in the world - we are able to leverage the international resources to identify opportunities and ensure consistency in portfolio style and performance. The remuneration of all team members reflects the performance of the portfolios they influence, ensuring that the objectives of our team members and our clients are inextricably aligned.

 

Portfolio managers have final responsibility for all investment decisions and strategy relating to their portfolios. Quantitative analysts search for investment opportunities and measure the risk profiles of portfolios. Credit analysts, through face-to-face meetings and detailed analysis, identify strong credit stories and avoid picking deteriorating credits. Our credit analysts also work closely with Fidelity's renowned team of equity analysts to provide extra insight into business plans of corporate bond issuers. Traders act as the eyes and ears of the portfolio managers, constantly searching for the best opportunities and prices.

Using multiple strategies to add value

Over the past decade, fixed income markets around the world have changed significantly. There are now more non-government issuers, they are more varied and they raise capital in more sophisticated ways. Changes to the macroeconomic environment have also had a direct impact on the style of portfolio management. As a result, fixed income markets offer a wide range of exploitable opportunities. We believe that a multi-strategy approach presents the best way to capture these opportunities, allowing us to generate attractive risk-adjusted returns.

The strategies that we use include:

  • Asset allocation - a portfolio's assets can be spread across various markets and different bond classes to create return while managing risk by means of hedging.
  • Yield curve positioning - our portfolio managers use combinations of bonds with varying durations to achieve the overall level of duration exposure they are looking for. In this way, we take advantage of the shape of the yield curve as well as changes in that shape.
  • Interest and exchange rate expectations - we prefer trades that come from examining yield curve shapes and the relative value of different markets for their robustness. While we do not forecast the major currency pairs, we do take open currency positions from time to time when we are keen to buy an underlying bond market and when the cost of hedging is high.
  • Sector allocation - using credit and quantitative analysis, our portfolio managers decide on the weightings given to the various credit rating and industry sectors.
  • Issuer credit analysis - besides ratings from external agencies, we also make use of our own in-depth analysis of an issuer's ability to make interest and capital payments.
  • Security valuation - a single organisation may have a number of bonds in issue, so as well as deciding whether the issuer can service its debt, our analysts and traders look at which of its bonds represent the best value.

Building portfolios for our clients

Our portfolio managers have ultimate responsibility for portfolio construction and their primary role is to see that the client's objectives are met. They gather recommendations from analysts and traders and supplement these with their own ideas so that their portfolios reflect the best of Fidelity's investment expertise.

When creating a portfolio, the manager ensures that:

  • no single strategy has an inordinate impact on the fund, in comparison with other active positions
  • the active strategies have as little correlation with each other as possible
  • the probability of each active strategy being profitable is high

In this way, the manager is able to diversify the portfolio's active position. When it is successfully implemented, this approach can result in higher returns with lower than expected volatility or risk.

Controls are an integral part of our process. Risk control is integrated into our management process in the way we select individual securities. Portfolio managers adhere to guidelines for duration and credit and currency exposure relative to their benchmarks.

Portfolio management, trading, and administration are carried out by separate teams. We also have oversight committees, compliance teams, and controls on our employees' personal security trading. These measures reflect our aim to be in a class ofour own in terms of business ethics, as well as investment performance and client service.

Our investment philosophy

We believe there are many different factors that affect bond prices. Conducting our own research on markets, sectors, industries, yield curves and individual bonds, using credit and quantitative analysis, is core to our investment process. Portfolio managers combine this research with highly focused trading skills to build multi-strategy portfolios in a way that delivers attractive returns.

* As of 31 March 2011. These figures reflect the resources of FIL Limited and FMR LLC. FIL Limited is able to access sub-advisory and research services from subsidiaries of FMR LLC. FIL Limited and FMR LLC are separate and independent companies with certain shareholders in common.

定息收益投資

自1990年起,富達國際 (「富達」) 在定息收益投資組合管理方面已久負盛名。清晰的投資理念、深入的研究及完善的投資管理流程等優勢,令富達持續提供卓越的表現。

這些優勢令富達從衆多定息收益投資競爭對手中脫穎而出,儘管市場環境的變化,致力為客戶持續提供吸引及已調整風險的回報。

富達矢志為客戶提供最優質的服務。富達具備強大的資源後盾,誠是信心之選。

團隊文化超卓表現

我們的策略綜合了投資組合經理、信貸分析員及定量分析員和交易員的專業才能。富達於倫敦、香港、印度及東京均設有定息收益投資分析員專責小組,亦可利用Fidelity Management and Research Corp. 的分析結果。透過充分利用全球逾200位定息收益投資專才*提供的數據及分析,富達擁有全球業內最具規模的專業團隊之一。利用這個環球資源網絡,我們可以竭力發掘投資機會,確保投資組合的風格和表現保持穩定。富達投資專業團隊的薪酬反映了其管理的投資組合的表現,因此他們和客戶的目標是完全一致的。

 

投資組合經理對其投資組合相關的投資決策及投資策略承擔最終責任。定量分析員找尋投資機會,並估計投資組合的風險程度。透過面談及詳細分析,信貸分析員識別信貸評級優良的企業,並避免揀選信貸評級惡化的企業。我們的信貸分析員亦與富達享有盛譽的股票分析員緊密合作,對企業債券發行人的商業計劃作出更獨立的分析。交易員充當了投資組合經理的「耳目」,不斷尋求最佳時機及價格。

運用多策略增值

在過去十年,世界各地的定息收益市場發生了重大的變化。現在湧現了更多不同的非政府發行人,他們採用更精良的方式來籌集資金。宏觀經濟環境的變化對投資組合的管理風格亦造成了直接影響。因此,定息收益市場存在相當的機遇。我們深信,運用多策略的方式可更穩妥地拿捏這些機遇,從而為投資者提供吸引及已調整風險的回報。

我們所採用的投資策略包括:

  • 資產分配 — 以對沖方式將投資組合資產分散在各個市場及不同債券類別,創造回報之同時並管理風險。
  • 收益率曲綫定位 — 投資組合經理綜合不同周期的債券,以達致所需的總體周期風險水平。這種方式充分利用收益率曲綫的形狀及變化。
  • 預期利率及匯率 — 仔細研究收益率曲線形狀及比較不同市場後,我們才進行交易。我們不會猜度主要貨幣匯率,但當我們考慮在債券市場投資而對沖成本很高時,我們亦可能進行外幣未平倉合約交易。
  • 行業分配 — 經信貸及定量分析,投資組合經理決定不同信貸級別及行業的比重。
  • 發行人信貸分析 — 除外部機構的評級外,我們亦利用富達對發行人派發利息及償還本金能力的深入分析。
  • 安全評估 — 單一機構可能發行多種債券,除了確定發行人償還債務的能力,我們的分析員及交易員還研究其最具增值能力的債券。

為客戶建立投資組合

投資組合經理對投資組合的建立承擔最終責任,其首要任務是滿足客戶的目標。他們參考分析員及交易員的意見,並發揮自己的想法,結合富達的投資專長於其投資組合。

建立投資組合時,投資組合經理須確保:

  • 衡量組合內不同的持倉,確保單一策略不會對基金產生過度影響
  • 採用的不同策略盡量減低策略間的相關系數
  • 每個採用的策略的盈利可能性為高

透過這種方式,投資組合經理可以分散投資組合的風險。當此方法成功執行時,望可爭取較高的投資回報及低於預期的波幅或風險。

監管是富達投資流程的重要部分。挑選個別證券的方式已將風險控制融入富達的投資管理流程。投資組合經理嚴格遵守有關周期、信貸及貨幣風險相對其指標的指引。

不同團隊分別負責投資組合管理、交易及行政管理。我們亦設有監管委員會、法規小組及員工個人證券交易監控。這些措施反映了富達致力在專業操守、投資表現及客戶服務各方面均能表現出色。

富達的投資理念

我們相信影響債券價格的因素很多。使用信貸及定量分析,深入研究市場、行業、收益率曲綫及個別債券為富達投資流程的基礎。投資組合經理有效地將研究結果與專業交易技術結合,為投資者建立優質的多策略投資組合。

* 截至2011年3月31日。數據反映FIL Limited及FMR LLC的資料。FIL Limited可使用FMR LLC的附屬公司的副顧問及研究服務。 FIL Limited及FMR LLC為兩家獨立運作的公司,並擁有若干共同的股東。