股票與債券之別

 

假如您決定投資於一間公司,有兩個途徑可以選擇:股票(亦稱為股份)和債務(亦稱為債券)。

股票由公司發行,每日進行定價及於證券交易所上市。另一方面,債券其實是由投資者擔任債權人的貸款。投資者將獲得年度收益,以及在最後獲償還貸款本金(除非發行人違約或債券以溢價購入),作為貸款給發行人的回報。與股票不同,債券可由公司或政府發行。

投資者的權益、回報前景和承受的風險將視乎其選擇的投資途徑而有別。本文探討股票和債券之間的分別,以及最有效的投資方法。

股東對比債券持有人的權益

讓我們先了解兩者所代表的權益。當投資者買入公司股票,便會成為其中一個聯名擁有人,而擁有權相應帶來權利與義務:重大股東可塑造公司策略,並有權就企業建議投票表決。作為股東的優點是於股價上升時,可讓投資者出售其股票獲利,但當然並不保證會發生這個情況。公司亦可透過派發股息與股東分享利潤,但派發股息並非強制性。

買入股票的缺點,是股東的經濟回報不獲保證。股價可大幅下跌,迫使投資者作出艱難抉擇,在以虧損價出售股票與等待和希望股價回升之間取捨。在最壞的情況下,公司可能清盤,而股東是在最後才獲得償還。在此情況下,股東可能失去全盤投資。

相反,若一間公司破產,債券持有人將得到較大保障,因為其身份是債權人,故獲償還的順序高於股東。此外,即使發行人就債務違約,大部份時間都有索償的可能性,但金額將會較小。舉例而言,阿根廷政府債券曾於2001年違約。即使當局面對嚴峻的經濟危機及複雜的法律問題,但仍透過債務重組和其他協議,向投資者償還部份本金。

投資股債的風險?

過往的經驗告訴我們,以下是投資與風險的關係:當一項投資的風險越高,獲利的潛力便越大,但蒙受虧損的機會亦較高。股票普遍被視為較債券更具風險的投資,因為其價格波幅較大。這是一般但並非必然的情況。部份由高風險公司或政府發行的債券波幅和部份股票一樣,例如所謂的「垃圾」或高收益債券,就是由違約機會較大的公司發行的債券。「高收益」類別是由信貸評級機構劃分。部份政府債券,尤其在若干新興市場發行的債券亦被視為高風險。新興市場通常處於發展初期,政局亦可能不穩。為彌補有關風險,新興市場債券的孳息通常較高。

相輔相成的資產

在多元化的投資組合中,債券和股票可說是相輔相成,因為兩者相關性相對低,意味其對經濟週期的變動有不同反應(環球金融危機是例外情況,當時兩者相關性較高)。如果經濟在衰退期間萎縮,利率通常會被下調,意味債券價格將會較高,而孳息將會較低,是特別適合投資債券的環境。但在經濟衰退期間,經濟活動減少意味消費者將削減商品和服務的開支。一般來說,公司在衰退期間面臨具挑戰的環境,但我們應注意公用事業公司等「防守性股份」表現較佳。包含債券和股票的均衡投資組合,有助投資者駕馭不同的經濟週期。當然,兩種資產帶來不同的優勢:債券可締造定期收益,而股票則提供資金增長潛力。

選擇合適的投資

在投資於債券或股票前,投資者必需釐定自己的風險承受能力。切忌過度投資,以免承受不了虧損,而向專業財務顧問尋求指引亦是明智之舉。不論您選擇哪項投資,互惠基金也值得考慮。這種基金匯集不同投資者的資金並投資於一系列資產,意味違約(債券基金)或股價下跌(股票基金)的影響可減至最低。

想了解更多? 請瀏覽更多我們的固定收益相關文章、影片及其他資料。

看多一點‧了解多一點

選智亞洲固定收益專家

憑藉分析師的在地優勢,將股票和債券的研究融會貫通,並專注達致卓越的風險調整回報,富達憑卓見,助您發掘亞洲債券機遇。

了解更多

The difference between stocks and bonds explained

 

If you choose to invest in a company, there are two routes available to you – equity (also known as stocks or shares) and debt (also known as bonds).

Shares are issued by firms, priced daily and listed on a stock exchange. Bonds, meanwhile, are effectively loans where the investor is the creditor. In return for lending money to the issuer, the investor receives an annual income as well as the ultimate repayment of the principal amount of the loan (unless the issuer defaults or the bond is purchased at a premium). Unlike shares, bonds can be issued by both companies and governments.

Depending on which route the investor takes, their rights, prospect of return and risk exposure will vary. Here, we explore the differences between stocks and bonds and consider the most efficient ways to invest.

Shareholder versus bondholder rights

Let’s begin by looking at what rights we have. When investors buy shares in a company, they become one of many co-owners. This ownership brings both rights and responsibilities – significant shareholders can shape the company’s strategy and have the right to vote and veto corporate proposals. The upside of being a shareholder is the share price can rise in value, allowing investors to sell their holding and make a profit. But, of course, there’s no guarantee this will happen. Companies can also share their profits via dividend payments to shareholders; however such dividend payments are not mandatory.

The downside of buying stocks is shareholders are not promised any economic return. Share prices can fall significantly, forcing investors to face the unwelcome choice between selling at a loss or waiting and hoping the shares recover. And if the worst happens, the company can go into liquidation, where shareholders are the last to be repaid. In this scenario, the investor could lose the entire investment.

Bondholders, by contrast, are in a more secure position if the company enters bankruptcy. That is because they fall under the category of creditors and so are repaid before shareholders. Moreover, even if the issuer defaults on its debts, there is most often a chance of recovery, albeit at a reduced level. An example of this is Argentina, which defaulted on its government bonds in 2001. Despite dealing with a severe economic crisis and despite what turned out to be a complicated legal issue, the country restructured its debts and, over several agreements, arranged to pay back its investors some portion of their principal amount.

What about risk?

When it comes to risk, there’s a general rule of thumb in investing. The riskier an investment is, the higher the potential to make a gain… but the chance of a loss is also higher. Shares are generally deemed riskier than bonds because swings in price are more severe. This is typically, but not universally, the case. Some bonds, issued by high-risk companies and governments, can be just as volatile as some shares. For example, so-called ‘junk’ or high yield bonds are those issued by companies that are more likely to default. This categorisation as ‘high yield’ is made by credit ratings agencies. Some government bonds – particularly those issued by certain emerging markets – are also considered high risk. Emerging markets are often in an earlier stage of development, and political uncertainties can also be present. To compensate for these risks, emerging market bonds generally offer higher yields.

Complementary assets

Bonds and stocks can work well together, as part of a well-diversified portfolio. That is because they tend to have low correlations with each other, meaning they respond differently to changes in the economic cycle. (An exception to this is the global financial crisis when correlations between the two were higher.) If an economy is shrinking during a recession, interest rates are often cut, which tends to mean higher bond prices (and lower yields). This is a particularly good environment to invest in bonds. But in a recession, lower economic activity means consumers tighten their belts, and spend less on goods and services. A recession often presents a challenging period for firms (although we should note that ‘defensive’ stocks, such as those issued by utility companies, hold up better). A well-chosen portfolio of both bonds and shares should stand an investor in good stead throughout the economic cycle. Of course, the two asset classes provide different benefits – bonds deliver a regular income, while shares offer the potential for capital growth.

Choosing the right investment

Before investing in either bonds or shares, it is important to ascertain your tolerance of risk. Do not invest what you cannot afford to lose, and it is a good idea to consult a professional financial adviser for guidance. And whatever your choice, it is worth considering a mutual fund where your investment is pooled with other people’s and invested in a wide range of assets. That means the effect of a default (in a bond fund) or share price fall (in an equity fund) is minimised.

If you would like to learn more, keep exploring our other fixed income articles, videos and infographics below.

More to read and more to watch

Leverage our expertise in Asian Fixed Income

From our offices in China and on-the-ground experts in the region, we use our research-based insights to uncover opportunities in Asia’s dynamic bond market and deliver superior risk-adjusted returns for you.

Explore our solutions